RSS Feed

Personal Context

Posted on

JD Dace (828059149)

March 8, 2011

Comp 300

Topic: Obesity

             The topic that me and my group members chose concerns obesity and its effect on the health of Americans. I was born in Pennsylvania, which is not know to be the fittest state in America, it actually is comprised of 25-29% obese people. I have plenty of family friends that live in Pennsylvania still and seeing them have all sorts of weight related health risks make me want to change something. It really frustrates me that obesity is such a preventable disease but it claims thousands of people lives across the nation. I guess you can say this is why I am so interested in this topic, not because it’s a disease that claims the lives of unsuspecting people but because they actually do it to themselves through over eating and exercise. I want to figure out what exactly motivates an obese person to continue their un-healthy lifestyles even though they are constantly warned by their doctors to drop the weight. A bias that I might have is that I, myself am such an active person. I am constantly outside playing sports with my friends, or at least hitting the gym when the weather isn’t so nice outside. I guess I just can’t wrap my head around why someone wouldn’t be compelled to go out and do something if it was a mater of life and death. Which is exactly what obesity is; a matter of life and death. If obese people choose to not lose their excess weight then they will either develop diabetes, or some kind of cancer. If the factor of death isn’t enough to motivate obese people, I want to find something that will motivate them.

Leave a Reply

